ROTW: Justice - Hyperdrama

The seminal French duo who brought us genre-defining anthems like D.A.N.C.E. and We Are Your Friends return for the release of their fourth career studio album, ‘Hyperdrama’. When people think of electro and French house, one of the first names that comes to mind is Justice, for almost two decades the pair have been at the forefront of that sub-section of club music, combining aggressive synth work with rock-leaning drum arrangements, and the 13-track ‘Hyperdrama’ is no different. Across the

ROTW: Justice - Hyperdrama

tracklist you’ll find tightly-packed and heavily filtered basslines, plenty of stern kick drums and snare hits, and vocal contributions from heavyhitters like Tame Impala, Miguel, and Thundercat. It doesn’t quite hit in the same way their earlier stuff did, and at a few points throughout the tracklist things begin to get a tad samey, but that doesn’t mean it’s a bad album. As with their previous three albums, ‘Hyperdrama’ is out on Ed Banger Records.

Where to start:
Saturnine: Dense basslines, big drums, and infectious rhythms in the climax
Afterimage: Layered synth melodies and a topline from RIMON
One Night/All Night: Vocals from Tame Impala meet punchy drum sounds

Previous from Justice:
Cross LP (2007, Ed Banger)
Woman LP (2016, Ed Banger)

If you like this then check out:
SebastiAn – Total LP (2011, Ed Banger)
Digitalism – Mirage LP (2016, Magnetism)

Justice – Hyperdrama LP is out now on Ed Banger Records.