ROTW: The Prodigy - No Tourists

The Essex bred, Grammy nominated trio of Liam Howlett, Keith Flint and Maxim have just delivered their seventh studio album under The Prodigy brand. No Tourists follows multi-platinum long players like The Fat Of The Land and Music For The Jilted Generation, and with their last five going straight in at #1 on the UK albums chart this one is being held to high expectations. Sonically it’s a massive splash in the big beat pool, a throwback to their older sounds, while still keeping things fresh and ready to go

ROTW: The Prodigy - No Tourists

at a moments notice. Features come in the form of impressive work from Ho99o9 and Barns Courtney, so the majority of the tracks are as usual, 100% The Prodigy. Stand out tracks include ‘We Live Forever’, which sounds like it came straight off a 20 year old white label from the band, and ‘Timebomb Zone’, bringing plenty of gritty production traits and enough dirt to satisfy even the most filthy of appetites. Slower rhythms also find their way onto the record through title track ‘No Tourists’ and the ho99o9 track ‘Fight Fire With Fire’. Besides the aural side of things, The album cover includes the text ‘The Four Aces, Dalston’, which is where Liam and the boys played their first ever show back in 1990. And they have also announced a supporting tour running through the month of November.

Where to start:
‘Need Some1’ – An aggressive and fired up album opener
‘Timebomb Zone’ – Pitched vocals, strong drum breaks and uplifting chords
‘Give Me A Signal’ – Screaming acid, computerised vocal and tons of low end mayhem

Previous from The Prodigy:
The Fat Of The Land LP (1997, XL Recordings)
Always Outnumbered, Never Outgunned LP (2004, XL Recordings)

If you like this then check out:
Pendulum – Immersion LP (2010, Warner Music)
The Qemists – Warrior Sound LP (2015, Amazing Record Co.)

The Prodigy – No Tourists is available now on CD, vinyl, cassette, digital and streaming via their own Take Me To The Hospital imprint.